The Student Room Group

18 and living in a Toxic Household am i the only one?

Hello, I am in my final year of A-level studies. My auntie moved into my house a couple of months ago, and since she started living here, both my mum and she have been nothing but toxic to me. They even went so far as to kick me out a couple of weeks ago. The reason? I am too loud, I do not wash my dishes, and I am apparently a bully.

I went to my local council, but they were not able to support me. They classified me as a "non-priority," despite me just turning 18 and being in full-time education. Apparently, the one-year difference between 17 and 18 really matters to the council. Luckily, I had friends who let me stay on their sofa for a bit, but after about two days, I called my mum and told her that it's not fair for her child to rely on someone else's mother to live. I asked her to send me money to find accommodation, informed the school about my situation, and they were able to find me two weeks of accommodation with the money my mum had sent.

Now I have had no choice but to beg my mother to move back in with her, and since I have, there is nothing but arguing. I have been called all the names under the sun by my auntie. For example, she calls me a "parasite" because I rely on my mother to live (I am 18 and in full-time education; I am not getting a job). I have been threatened by my auntie's son with physical violence because my auntie has said to him that I have physically assaulted my sister. This is not what happened; I literally pushed her out of the room because she was annoying me. She confirmed this to my auntie herself; she is 16.