The Student Room Group

Taking a leave of absence

For some context I am studying history and I’m in my third and final year, I also commute to university from home. I am just about to go into my second semester where I will have to submit my dissertation.

At the start of the academic year I really started struggling with anxiety. Now I’ve always suffered from anxiety but this year it has become exponentially worse to the point where I am struggling to sleep, eat, and generally function on a day to day basis without mass amounts of stress. Despite this I am still achieving decent grades.

Over Christmas and new year my symptoms seemed to be improving somewhat but coming back now in January has made be feel terrible. I feel burnt out, like my brain just isn’t working like it usually does and I feel like I’m really going to mess up my degree in the final stretch. Earlier on this week I had a meeting with my department’s wellbeing service and they said that a leave of absence may be appropriate so that I can work my mental health (I have started therapy) and come back in September. This way I will be able to do the best I possibly can in my final year.

However, I am not sure whether or not to do this. First off I feel like a bit of a failure, most people are able to do a degree without this level of mental strife and I feel like taking a couple months away is just the easy way out. Secondly, in some ways I feel like it may be best to just power through and get the year done even if this takes a massive toll on my mental wellbeing. Furthermore, I would need evidence to show why I am taking a leave of absence. My therapist can provide this and I have an appointment with my GP but I’m not sure I will be approved.

Has who anyone has had a similar experience give me some advice here I really don’t know what to do