The Student Room Group

Struggling at uni due to mental health

Hello,

I’m a uni student and I’m really struggling to get good grades. I have depression and anxiety so my stress levels rise a lot during exam season and it causes me to lose sleep. An assignment I recently did, I didn’t sleep for 3 days. Every time I try to fall asleep it feels like I’m about to have a heart attack. I can’t cope at university because of it and it’s really taking a toll on my grades. I’m scared that my grades will ruin my entire life because of something I can’t control. I always try my best during assignments and give myself time to do them, but I always make stupid mistakes because I’m exhausted.

I want to reach out for help but when I spoke to my university, they only gave me breathing exercises to help. But they didn’t help it just made things worse. I can’t qualify for extra time during assignments because apparently I don’t suit the criteria fully.

I really don’t know what to do and I’m panicking even thinking about it. Every time I think about the essay I sent in yesterday it sent me into a spiral where I try to punish myself by not eating to force myself to cope. Im scared that im ruining my life because my grades will define me for the rest of my life. The only thing I care about is academic validation and if I don’t have that. I have nothing.
Original post by Anonymous #1
Hello,