The Student Room Group

Glycolysis (glyceraldehyde 3-phosphate to pyruvate)

In glycolysis when glyceraldehyde 3-phosphate is turned into pyruvate, how does two ADP molecules get phosphorylated to two ATP molecules when there is only one phosphate group on the glyceraldehyde 3-phosphate? where does this extra phosphate group come from? thanks for any help :smile:

I'm studying AQA A-level Biology by the way :smile:

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
I've just seen something and it looks as though the extra phosphate group comes from the NAD when it is reduced, could someone please explain how this happens? :smile: cheers
Original post by tdx
In glycolysis when glyceraldehyde 3-phosphate is turned into pyruvate, how does two ADP molecules get phosphorylated to two ATP molecules when there is only one phosphate group on the glyceraldehyde 3-phosphate? where does this extra phosphate group come from? thanks for any help :smile:

Original post by tdx
I've just seen something and it looks as though the extra phosphate group comes from the NAD when it is reduced, could someone please explain how this happens? :smile: cheers

The extra phosphate group comes from Phosphoric acid - H3PO4.

Glycolysis diagram in spoiler:

Spoiler

If you want a larger image, go here.
Reply 3
EDIT: Nvm, above makes me realise I clearly need to revise more :tongue:
(edited 12 years ago)
I thought it was each one produces one ATP: 2 pyruvate molecules are produced for each glucose molecule. I do OCR though, so you may learn it a bit different
Reply 5
Original post by thegodofgod
The extra phosphate group comes from Phosphoric acid - H3PO4.

Glycolysis diagram in spoiler:

Spoiler

If you want a larger image, go here.

ahh, thanks :smile: so that's where the H+ ion also comes from then? just a quick question where does the Phosphoric acid come from? or is it just in the cell's cytosol already?

cheers :')
(edited 12 years ago)
Reply 6
Original post by Bromine