The Student Room Group
St Salvators Quad, University of St Andrews
University of St Andrews

how is life in St. A?

Hi all,

I am a professional who is interviewing for an opportunity to work at St. Andrews University. I will be moving there from Chicago, IL US after living in America for over 10 years(4 of which in Chicago). I am trying to gather as much information as i can for the city and University.

What concerns me the transition from such a big city to a small town. Although i am no longer a student i am also considering to pursue my PhD there in the future, if i like it. Also, my gf is planning to follow me thereto settle down together. We are both city people and i am trying to see if living there would be hard on us. We've both been through college life so we're not much into clubbing anymore but i would like to see some positives and negatives of the University and city from people who live there.

Also, a few general questions: Coming from chicago and having visited other cities in the states (and Seoul:s-smilie:outh Korea) technology is all around me. Is this something that i will miss? How is internet service there?

Thanks for reading!
(edited 10 years ago)
Reply 1
Original post by ghostr
Hi all,

I am a professional who is interviewing for an opportunity to work at St. Andrews University. I will be moving there from Chicago, IL US after living in America for over 10 years(4 of which in Chicago). I am trying to gather as much information as i can for the city and University.