The Student Room Group

How much is too much when it comes to helping a uni friend?

I am a second year student and a friend of mine and also another one at university who is doing the same degree course are struggling, to be quite frank! I don't mind helping at all! Last year I used to sit with them both, trying to gather facts and evidence and research articles. This year however, I am up to my eyes in it. I have to do/prepare three essays by January and also type up my notes from lecture and plus: I am working so I haven't really got spare time on my hands.

Moreover, she asked me if I can sit with her outside of university each week as I need to give her guidance and step each of the way! I mean.. I think she really isn't putting any effort in! I used to always tell her she needs more research in her work, etc. I told her I may be wrong because I just went through the guidance sheet and told her to do the same but she's a bit off with me and she's seen my WhatsApp texts but hasn't replied.

I feel really bad :/ I am a helping person but the time I spend to help her hours on end could be the time I spend on my own work!

Posted from TSR Mobile
You shouldn't be jepodising your own work in order to help her. The impression I get is that she seems to be expecting it now? It's not as if it's 5 minutes here and there?

She needs to learn to do the work herself.
Original post by OU Student
You shouldn't be jepodising your own work in order to help her. The impression I get is that she seems to be expecting it now? It's not as if it's 5 minutes here and there?

She needs to learn to do the work herself.

Exactly. She always struggles because she isn't putting any effort in. When she gets stressed she just smokes which wastes time.

Posted from TSR Mobile