The Student Room Group

USB or hardrive for uni?

Hi,

I will be studying biomedical science if that is relevant. Which is better for 1st year students; a USB or hardrive? Sorry I don't know much about computers so if there is a clear difference between the two I apologise lol
probably a USB because it's more portable

I never use them tho since I store my files online/cloud
Reply 2
So I’m in my 3rd year of biochemistry so similar. I only used a usb to transfer presentations onto uni computers as in uni you get access to OneDrive so everyone stores their stuff on there, I also bought a hard drive that’s because I have a data based 3rd year project but I doubt you’ll need one
Original post by ZombieTheWolf
Hi,

I will be studying biomedical science if that is relevant. Which is better for 1st year students; a USB or hardrive? Sorry I don't know much about computers so if there is a clear difference between the two I apologise lol

You'll most likely have Office 365 in Uni which gives you 5TB online storage (IIRC).
Original post by angelike1

I never use them tho since I store my files online/cloud

Thats and "Instant Fail" :mad:

No physical backup under your control is a recipe for disaster, you need to be able to pack your data up and know its safe, and you CANNOT guarantee web access when you need it. Yes a cloud backup is a useful "extra" thing, but do you want to trust your entire thesis to it or a few years of PhD research ?

For the OP, get BOTH. A tough little USB to go on your key ring, it should go with you everywhere. Use it for instant backup / moving stuff between computers. Have a separate external hard drive back in your room for keeping an additional copy of all your work files, phone cam picks etc. Storage is super cheap these days and its foolish not to have some redundancy.