The Student Room Group
Student Outside, University of Aberdeen
University of Aberdeen

Diversity of nationalities at the University of Aberdeen

Hey guys,

I am an international student who is looking forward to studying in Aberdeen from September onwards. One reason for choosing Aberdeen was because of the great diversity of nationalities. I wanted to meet new friends from other cultures. But now I have been told by a friend who has a friend who lives in Scotland that there are many EU students at the University of Aberdeen, but only a few international students.

Is that really the case?

On the one hand, I do not want to be one of the only international students and, on the other hand, I also want to get to know people and cultures apart from Western Europe and the US. I am fascinated, for example, by Russia, Japan, China, but also by other countries.

Thanks, guys!
I mean, of course there are more European students than international students, because continental Europe is closer to the UK than the rest of the world is 😅 Also, studying in Scotland is free for EU students, so that's why many choose to study here.

But I don't think that European students are any less interesting than international students?
Also, there still are a lot of international students, specifically from Asia. But there is also a Russian society, a Ghanaian society, and many more, so there's definitely enough international students at Aberdeen.

I particularly met a lot of Americans and a lot of East Asians (apart from the Europeans).

Obviously it might be a little different this year, because many East Asians (and international students overall) might choose to study at Aberdeen remotely due to covid-19, but let's hope that it's all back to normal by next year.