The Student Room Group

Can I apply to Uni with a Cert HE?

I am studying the foundation year on a Biomedicine course and will be able to go straight onto the first year after this, however I've been considering changing to a different course.

I've been told that if I change uni after this year,
rather progressing with the Biomed course, then I will receive a Cert He (subjects allied to Medicine).

I can't find any universities that ask for a Cert HE, everywhere I've looked asks for a levels, gcse's or an access course. Why is this? Can I apply for a course with a Cert HE rather than an access course?

Thanks
They will probably consider it. I'd suggest contacting any unis you wish to apply to beforehand to enquire about whether it meets their entry requirements. I expect it'll meet their requirements in general but if they require particular subjects to A-level or equivalent, it may or may not meet that requirement.

Note that having a CertHE may affect your entitlement to funding for a new course, under equivalent or lower level qualification (ELQ) rules; it is possible you might need to self fund tuition fees for first year as a result. I'd recommend checking this with SFE well in advance so you can make any necessary plans.
Cert HE is the equivalent of Year 1 of a University degree, not a Foundation course.

Most Universities will only accept Foundation courses from 'parallel' Universities - ie. those asking for the same grades for that main degree as they do. As above, you should contact each Uni with a full list of all your qualifications, and the link to your Foundation course on the Uni website and ask if this will be accepted for Year 1 entry.
Original post by McGinger
Cert HE is the equivalent of Year 1 of a University degree, not a Foundation course.