The Student Room Group

Feeling a little lost...

I feel that I have sold myself short, I am an international student with good grades and a good portfolio and as happy as I am that I got into (basically) all my schools I feel that I was waaaayyyyy to precocious and made the mistake of not applying to UCL or Bath. Is there any way to apply now or am I too late?

Here are the schools I got into:
Edinburgh (Accepted)
Manchester (Accepted)
Sheffield (Accepted)
Cardiff (waiting)
Plymouth (Backup) (Accepted)

Also If anyone has any advice on which schools to choose based on reputation, prestige and location it would be greatly appreciated.
(edited 1 year ago)
Reply 1
Actually there is technically a way, but its risky so only do it if you're really really unhappy with your choices. UCAS has a thing called UCAS extra, in which you can decline all your current offers and reapply for one more place the deadline I think is July, and you'd enter the same year. Of course, this involves turning down all your current offers, and theres no going back; and theres no guarantee they'd give you a place. So be very VERY careful, especially given that you've got some very good offers (Manchester and Edinburgh are ranked among the highest in the world, they have a very strong rep).
Of course, its not all about reputation and prestige, go where you're happy. I'm currently at Edinburgh, which is ranked 20th in the world or something, but it doesn't really feel like that in all honestly. Rankings are often based on research quality etc, not necessarily undergraduate teaching. Edinburgh's a bloody cool city though, but I personally would have been happier at a campus i think.
Similarly, UCL has a great reputation, but I know some people feel isolated there, it being in a huge city and all. But some love it, because they get to be in London.