The Student Room Group

IAL Edexcel physics Jan 2014 Unit 1 Question 17

Hello everyone, I would really appreciate if i could get help on this question.

https://qualifications.pearson.com/content/dam/pdf/International%20Advanced%20Level/Physics/2013/Exam%20materials/WPH01_01_que_20140115.pdf

This is my first time making a post, I am not sure how I can share the question apart from providing a link to the question. If there are better ways to share questions, let me know.

The first issue is that i am unable to understand the graph which makes answering the questions impossible.

I have tried using the mark scheme and examiner's report to help me understand but they've just left me with more questions than answers.

Why is the graph shaped like that?

Why does the graph have a semi horizontal section if this is a graph on vertical displacement only ?

If the whole graph is for vertical displacement, doesn't that mean i can get the velocity by working out the gradient at any section of the graph? If yes, why does the examiner's report say that we had to calculate the gradient of the semi horizontal section to find the velocity?
Original post by Daada
Hello everyone, I would really appreciate if i could get help on this question.

https://qualifications.pearson.com/content/dam/pdf/International%20Advanced%20Level/Physics/2013/Exam%20materials/WPH01_01_que_20140115.pdf

This is my first time making a post, I am not sure how I can share the question apart from providing a link to the question. If there are better ways to share questions, let me know.

The first issue is that i am unable to understand the graph which makes answering the questions impossible.

I have tried using the mark scheme and examiner's report to help me understand but they've just left me with more questions than answers.

Why is the graph shaped like that?

Why does the graph have a semi horizontal section if this is a graph on vertical displacement only ?