The Student Room Group

Does bullying exist for postgrad students?

I don't look back fondly on my undergrad degree. I graduated in 2017. People say undergrad is one of the best experiences of your life. But I was bullied and had no friends (for the most part). Tbh it made me depressed and dread lectures. I skipped A LOT of lectures because I was depressed and I isolated myself. I did badly in my first two years but aced third year and came out with a 2.1 :smile:. In my third year I made a friend, and was kind of friends with her friend. My third year was my fondest.

I've applied for a master's degree to start in September 2023. I'm a different person now and I grew a thick skin. But I still have social anxiety issues and I'm worried about this, as dumb as it sounds. Is it a possibility that bullying can happen for master's students? How common is that? My only hope is that I'll be surrounded by more mature students so I don't think I will but I'm still worried.

Posting anonymously because I'm embarrassed.
Reply 1
Yes, sometimes.
Bullying can happen anywhere and to anyone.
Any age, any profession and any venue- offline or online.

It is important to always trust your gut instinct and put your health first.
Steer clear of all vicious, dishonest, criminal and noisy people.
Whether they be students, lecturers, restaurant staff, guest speakers, uni donors or anyone else.
Exists in every context of life, inc. work etc.

May not just be outright physical
Original post by Anonymous