The Student Room Group

ALEVEL OCR computer science NEA - help!!!

I'm currently in year 12 and I take computer science alevels, but I have NO CLUE how to code. Over half of my GCSE content was covered during lockdown, so I have no knowledge on how to code whatsoever, and I feel like I'm left behind in my class. I also prefer the theory side. So far I've been using the method 'fake it till you make it', but I need serious help for my NEA!!
(edited 10 months ago)
Original post by Plop345
I'm currently in year 12 and I take computer science alevels, but I have NO CLUE how to code. Over half of my GCSE content was covered during lockdown, so I have no knowledge on how to code whatsoever, and I feel like I'm left behind in my class. I also prefer the theory side. So far I've been using the method 'fake it till you make it', but I need serious help for my NEA!!

As a starting point I would say start thinking about what you could do for your project, and choose something that interests you. I am on the aqa exam board for a level computer science and have finished my nea. If you choose a topic that interests you, designing and planning the program will be much easier and more enjoyable, and that's a good chunk of the marks if you can design the program well. As for programming, I've always found Codecademy good (although if you are learning python its a bit annoying as you have to go pro to learn python 3) and YouTube is always good, just search for beginner videos. If you have any friends or just friendly people in the class that you wouldn't mind taking to that might be a good place to get some help with programming, or just be honest with your teacher, they might surprise you.
(edited 10 months ago)
Reply 2
Original post by Glossy_moss_