The Student Room Group

is it just me? does this inequality question make sense?

In this course I am studying. I am presented with a question, here...

Untitled.png

i don't know how well that can be read....

it basically says: In set notation, we can write this x<=-3 and x>=-2 as....

So, and usually refers to symbol n.. and in this case saying {x: 3<= x <= -2} cannot exist.... so it can only be {x:x<=-3}u{x:x>=-2} but then sholdn't the question say: In set notation, we can write this x<=-3 or x>=-2 as..

or am i just thinking too much into this?
(edited 8 months ago)
Reply 1
Original post by KingRich
In this course I am studying. I am presented with a question, here...

Untitled.png

i don't know how well that can be read....

it basically says: In set notation, we can write this x<=-3 and x>=-2 as....

So, and usually refers to symbol n.. and in this case saying {x: 3<= x <= -2} cannot exist.... so it can only be {x:x<=-3}u{x:x>=-2} but then sholdn't the question say: In set notation, we can write this x<=-3 or x>=-2 as..
or am i just thinking too much into this?

What is the next line(s). You can have an empty set, so it would be possible to find the intersection "n" of the two stated inequalities.
Reply 2
Original post by mqb2766
What is the next line(s). You can have an empty set, so it would be possible to find the intersection "n" of the two stated inequalities.

Sorry, I hadn’t received a notification saying anyone responded.

There’s no second line. That’s everything provided in regards to the question.

That’s why I’m a little baffled by it lol

It seems an incomplete question to me.
Reply 3
Sorry, I hadn’t received a notification saying anyone responded.

There’s no second line. That’s everything provided in regards to the question.

That’s why I’m a little baffled by it lol

It seems an incomplete question to me.