The Student Room Group
Medicine at Swansea University
Swansea University
Visit website

Want to Stay Motivated and Develop Independent Study Skills?

One of the ways university education differs from school and college is that it expects you to be in control of your studies. If you want some tips and advice on how to stay on top of studying at university level, keep reading!
Self-Study the biggest problem, both new and seasoned students struggle with is self-study. It is normal to battle with time management and procrastination. The key here is to follow a well-balanced timetable for yourself. As you oversee your own study time make sure to dedicate hours according to your strengths. Set aside time for recreational activities. Self-study can encompass anything from pre-reading before lectures to rewriting notes post lectures. Figure out what works for you by trial and error. As a medical student I am a big fan of the Pomodoro method.
Medicine at Swansea University
Swansea University
Visit website
Library services as a new student I highly recommend checking out the library webpages for any workshops or seminars they may be running. Learning new techniques and grasping concepts such as referencing can help keep you focussed on your coursework. At Swansea University they also offer subject-specific support that comes in handy for assignments. Have a look at their various resources here and from personal experience, support with your coursework definitely keeps you motivated!