The Student Room Group
Medicine at Swansea University
Swansea University
Visit website

Not the offer I was hoping for.

I applied for Zoology at Swansea, and received a conditional offer today, which usually I would be thrilled with. However, the offer I received was 'Biology with foundation year' which is obviously not what I applied for.

I don't know why I was offered this instead, and it's not ideal. Still feeling kind of disappointed about it tbh, because the other places I've applied to, while their courses look good and I'd willingly go to any of them if I couldn't attend my first choice, their locations aren't really what I was hoping for.

So my question is, could I accept this offer and then transfer onto the Zoology degree after my first year of the Biology foundation degree?

I don't really want to do this. I'm a mature student and don't want to add another year onto my studies when I've already attended 3 years of college to get this far. But I'm trying to explore all of my options.
Original post by Highflyers
I applied for Zoology at Swansea, and received a conditional offer today, which usually I would be thrilled with. However, the offer I received was 'Biology with foundation year' which is obviously not what I applied for.

I don't know why I was offered this instead, and it's not ideal. Still feeling kind of disappointed about it tbh, because the other places I've applied to, while their courses look good and I'd willingly go to any of them if I couldn't attend my first choice, their locations aren't really what I was hoping for.

So my question is, could I accept this offer and then transfer onto the Zoology degree after my first year of the Biology foundation degree?

I don't really want to do this. I'm a mature student and don't want to add another year onto my studies when I've already attended 3 years of college to get this far. But I'm trying to explore all of my options.