The Student Room Group

✎Starting Early: GYG Study Blog of Y9 Student📖

Hello!
This will be my study blog until the end of the school year!!

A bit of info:
I am a year 9 student that has started GCSE prep this year (my school does this). I will be doing 10 GCSEs inside of school and hopefully an extra 2 more independently! This study blog will focus on 5 subjects and the study will not be necessarily about GCSE:
Maths
Further Maths ~
Physics
Astronomy ~
Computer Science
~ = independent study/ outside of school
I have gotten my target grades back for Maths, Physics and Comp. Sci and they are good: 998 (for those). I haven't told my school yet that I would like to do Astronomy and Further Maths GCSE but I plan to do in the summer term of Y9. I'm also considering doing those subjects and physics GCSE in the summer of Y10 because I think I will be able to but of course, all of this will be decided towards the end of Y9.

What I have done so far (29/09/23)
------------
Maths - Just doing stuff that we have to do in school, prep for IMC
------------
Further Maths - Haven't actually started anything because I haven't got the textbook yet...
------------
Physics - Learnt some stuff in the Physics GCSE revision guide, started to properly learn things from the Edexcel Textbook (up to section 1, I did the Working Scientifically section first) and I have the Isaac physics GCSE book ready for when I need it
-------------
Astronomy - I've worked through topics Planet Earth, The Lunar Disc, and have now started topic The Earth-Moon-Sun System
-------------
Computer Science - just doin' stuff I have to do at school
-------------

My Preferred Method of Study:
~ going through the textbooks and taking down key info into a designated notebook that I can later revise from
~ after I have completed a topic, I make flashcards on quizlet for key terminology in that topic