The Student Room Group

How are salariés worked out?

I thought I was on a decent salary for my age. However it’s just transpired that my colleague is on 74K ( her starting was £60K) and my starting salary was £40K ( I’ve been there 18 months and this has increased to £46K

I was obviously really happy about this and grateful ( I am 24, nearly 25) and she is 32. She’s still only been there 3 years so I’m just wondering how on earth she got on such a high starter salary.

I have a degree and a masters, I don’t even think she has a degree! Could it be on the basis that she is 7 yrs older?

I do not understand! I don’t wanna sound super ungrateful. I have great appraisals too so I’m not sure why my salary isn’t a little bit more!

I obviously can’t mention this to my boss cos we aren’t meant to talk about salaries but what the ****??
Original post by Anonymous #1
I thought I was on a decent salary for my age. However it’s just transpired that my colleague is on 74K ( her starting was £60K) and my starting salary was £40K ( I’ve been there 18 months and this has increased to £46K

I was obviously really happy about this and grateful ( I am 24, nearly 25) and she is 32. She’s still only been there 3 years so I’m just wondering how on earth she got on such a high starter salary.

I have a degree and a masters, I don’t even think she has a degree! Could it be on the basis that she is 7 yrs older?

I do not understand! I don’t wanna sound super ungrateful. I have great appraisals too so I’m not sure why my salary isn’t a little bit more!

I obviously can’t mention this to my boss cos we aren’t meant to talk about salaries but what the ****??

Perhaps she's really, really, really good at her job and you're.... not???
Reply 2
Original post by ageshallnot
Perhaps she's really, really, really good at her job and you're.... not???