The Student Room Group

Self teaching myself AS AQA Government & Politics

Hi Guys,
I'm currently taking my AS levels..well actually I've finished my exams for them and we've started doing our A2's and I only did 3 AS's as I dropped the 4th one time ago.

I now want to pick up an AS level and self teach it and I have a huge interest in politics and I was thinking that AS Gov & Politics self taught may be suitable.

Would this be possible?
How hard is government and politics in general?
How hard would it be to self teach it?
Do you recommend any specific text books or resources

Thanks and sorry if this post seems a bit vague
Feel free to ask questions too haha!
Reply 1
PurpleConverse
Hi Guys,
I'm currently taking my AS levels..well actually I've finished my exams for them and we've started doing our A2's and I only did 3 AS's as I dropped the 4th one time ago.

I now want to pick up an AS level and self teach it and I have a huge interest in politics and I was thinking that AS Gov & Politics self taught may be suitable.

Would this be possible?
How hard is government and politics in general?
How hard would it be to self teach it?
Do you recommend any specific text books or resources

Thanks and sorry if this post seems a bit vague
Feel free to ask questions too haha!

1) Yes it would be possible
2) The AS new spec is not hard, as you say you have a huge interest in Politics it should be fine
3) Obviously self teaching yourself any AS level is hard and Politics is no different.
4) They tend not to use specific textbook for Politics, you use a wide range. There is a really good revision guide for AS politics but can't remember the name. I'll find out for you.

Any other questions you have about AS politics in general, don't hesitate to ask.