The Student Room Group

On the road to becoming an early years teacher .. Am i going about it the right way?

Hi, well first up I'll let you know a bit about myself so it can help you to help me :tongue: . Okay so I'm a "mature" student and unfortunatly decided to mess around in school :frown: silly mistake. I now live to regret it (a bit )but everything happens for a reason . As you can tell by the title i want to be an early years teacher (3-5yrs) , and I'm wondering if i'm going about it the correct way. Im currently studying maths and English gcse equvialent at college and intend to go on an access to higher education course (I think Humanities & Social science is the one i need please correct me if im wrong) I was then going to study ,Teacher Education :BEd primary, at uni. However i need a B in GCSE science which i do not have :-( and am proving very difficult to find a college that does GCSE Science resits for over 19's the only other option is distance learning and with 2 young children at home i will find it hard to complete never mind achive a B or above. I then got advised i could study a course called Early Childhood Studies and then do a PGCE then QTS . I was told this would give me the career prospects i want plus it also leaves a wider oppertunity if i decide i dont want to be a teacher(highly doubt that i would change my mind bbut you never know).So if you know if this is correct/incorrect could you please let me know if you are doing similar i would love to know your journey many thanks in advance Laura xx :biggrin:
Reply 1
P.s sorry for the essay :tongue:
Reply 2