The Student Room Group

Ford Ka problems!

Hello,
I have an 02 Ford Ka with an MOT up to Feb of next year. I took it out today (after its been sat on my drive for 3 months) and its making a knocking noise, like a deep clunking, it gets faster with more speed but not particularly louder. A piece of metal fell off as well whilst I was driving uphill, it was only small but I have no idea where it came from.
At first it sounded as if the knocking was coming from the rear passenger side, but it seems to be louder and not coming from one specific location (its more like all around the car) now than when I first noticed it. I drove over speedbumps and potholes but that didnt seem to make it any worse... Any idea of what it may be?

Also, I noticed the footbreak didn't seem to be working as well as it does on the car I've been driving for the past 3 months, and it seemed to stall a lot easier and the turbo didnt seem as fresh if that makes sense, not sure any of the last bit makes any difference at all :s maybe its because the car ive been driving is a lot newer... None of the warning lights stay on when the cars started up so there doesn't seem to be any obvious clues :confused:
Reply 1
Take it to a garage and see if they can get too the bottom of it. Its never a good idea to leave a car standing for that long as some components can seize up.
Reply 2
If you put the car into neutral and coast with the clutch down does the knock still remain?
Reply 3
Pistons.

This was posted from The Student Room's Android App on my LT26i
Reply 4
Original post by vxrz
Pistons.

This was posted from The Student Room's Android App on my LT26i

Bull****.
Reply 5