The Student Room Group

Suggest a Philosophy Reading List

I'm an A2 student aspiring to study philosophy at university in 2013.
I want to compile a conclusive reading list for the next year, but I'm none the wiser as to what to include.
I am studying philosophy & ethics but there are certain limitations to the subject, so can anybody suggest some appropriate books on the topic?

Preferably:

Challenging but not inaccessible to an A Level student

Interesting and thought provoking

Valuable for a prospective philosophy student

'Classics' are welcome as long as they fulfil the above criteria.

I have emailed some professors from certain universities but haven't heard back yet, which is understandable as they have very busy schedules.
Any help would be appreciated!

Budding philosophy enthusiast.
Original post by sarahenderson
I want to compile a conclusive reading list for the next year, but I'm none the wiser as to what to include.
I am studying philosophy & ethics but there are certain limitations to the subject, so can anybody suggest some appropriate books on the topic?

Preferably:

I have emailed some professors from certain universities but haven't heard back yet, which is understandable as they have very busy schedules.

Well Mill's on Liberty and Utilitarianism is a classic, along with Descartes' Meditations
For lighter reading, "The Philosophy Gym" and "The Pig that wants to be eaten" are really good, particularly the first one.
Otherwise, have a look at what universities expect undergraduates to have read on arrival, it should be on their websites :smile:
'Think' by Simon Blackburn and the Peter Vardy 'Puzzle of...' series seem to be accessible and popular. I'd certainly recommend them xx
Reply 3

Preferably:

the bible