The Student Room Group

Grad School Prospects

Hi everyone,

Newbie here :smile:
Sorry if this has been asked before, but can anyone give me some idea about how good will be my chances upon graduating to get into a top grad program maybe an MBA/ MS most likely an MBA(Stanford,INSEAD something like that), if I complete and undergrad degree in CompSci from University of Manchester, or Bristol, or York ( these three made me offers, Cambridge and ICL rejected :frown: ) or going to University of Toronto/Waterloo( they are in Canada).
I am an international student(Indian), I know other factors like work exp matter a lot more, but still if it makes any difference which undergrad program will give me a better chance getting into one of those top post grad programs, provided I do great in undergrad.

Reply 1
115 views, still no reply, Anyone, pls share your 2 cents on that,..
Reply 2
Original post by avenger123321
provided I do great in undergrad.

This is the only part that matters -- all of those unis are great.

Biggest factor is probably whether you want a more rounded education (Canada) or want to graduate in three years (UK).
Reply 3
Hey thanks for the reply,
I am closing on Manchester/Bristol/Toronto, Waterloo is 5 years without any vacations (O.O),

Bristol would be 3 years for me
Manchester 3 or 4 (One year in Course related Industry)
Toronto 4 or 5 years

Toronto is very expensive compared to B/M ( almost double)..

I have heard this a lot of time that published university rankings are misleading, QS world uni rankings place Toronto at 10th, Bristol at 51th, Manchester at 31 for Computer Science, (overall they are 19, 28, 32 respectively), and the League tables used in UK place Bristol at 4th, and Manchester at 19, quite opposite of QS, so its getting annoyingly confusing to choose one from all of them, so any thoughts on simplifying this process???
Thanks again :smile:
Reply 4
Original post by avenger123321
any thoughts on simplifying this process???