The Student Room Group

Year Abroad- Paris vs Toulouse vs Marseille

Hi all! I'm a student on a joint honours Law and French course which means that I need to study in France for a year with Erasmus next year and I was wondering if you could help me narrow my choices down?

My options are, if it wasn't obvious enough from the title, Paris (Sciences Po & Paris Sud), Toulouse (Toulouse) and Marseille (Aix-Marseille).

I've never been to France so have no idea what the country, let alone any of these specific cities would be like to live in so I don't know where to start apart from what I've heard:

Apparently, neither Sciences Po nor Sud are great for Law and Paris is very expensive to live in. Saying that, I can see the attraction in living in one of the most important cities of Europe.

Marseille is attractive because of it's Mediterranean climate and also that it seems like quite a big city. The only drawback from what I'm aware is the crime- this doesn't neccessarily put me off- I've lived in a "dangerous" city most of my life and know that reputations are not always lived up to :tongue:

I know literally nothing about Toulouse except for its aerospace industry but that doesn't mean I'm writing it off!
Original post by scotland369
Hi all! I'm a student on a joint honours Law and French course which means that I need to study in France for a year with Erasmus next year and I was wondering if you could help me narrow my choices down?

My options are, if it wasn't obvious enough from the title, Paris (Sciences Po & Paris Sud), Toulouse (Toulouse) and Marseille (Aix-Marseille).

I've never been to France so have no idea what the country, let alone any of these specific cities would be like to live in so I don't know where to start apart from what I've heard:

Apparently, neither Sciences Po nor Sud are great for Law and Paris is very expensive to live in. Saying that, I can see the attraction in living in one of the most important cities of Europe.