The Student Room Group

Relative Worth of Russel Group/Rankings

Hi there.

It's coming to the time for me to make a decision about where I want to study at university. I've my heart set on doing physics and have received all 5 offers, which I narrowed down to pretty much two. However choosing between these is troubling me, and it's mainly because one is in the Russel group and the other isn't.

My preferred option is the Uni of Leicester. It's close enough to home, seems like a nice place, is ranked 9th for physics by the guardian etc. Long story short, I can see my self studying there. However I'm slightly put off by the fact it isn't a russel group univeristy. I'm worried this could affect Job prospects or the prospects of getting on a postgraduate course.

I've got offers from some Unis that are in the Russel group but am just not sure If I want to go there or not. I'm a pretty decent student (Predicted AAA) and I want to achieve my full potential but also enjoy my time at Uni.

So i guess the question is, for undergraduate courses how much does being in the Russel Group matter? Considering that I wish to go on to a Postgraguate course afterwards potentially.

Any help, advice would be awesome.

-Eremor

TLDR; How much does being in the russel group matter when looking for postgraduate stuff?
Original post by Eremor
Hi there.

It's coming to the time for me to make a decision about where I want to study at university. I've my heart set on doing physics and have received all 5 offers, which I narrowed down to pretty much two. However choosing between these is troubling me, and it's mainly because one is in the Russel group and the other isn't.