The Student Room Group

Numeracy help please :) - dilutions

I'm not sure how to approach this question. Can anyone please show me how to do both questions? Thank you

How would you carry out the following dilutions?

1.Dilute 1M stock solution to give 100ml of 1mM. Calculate: Stock solution and distilled water in ml
2.Dilute 100mM stock solution to give 10ml of 10µM. Calculate :stock solution and distilled water in ml

Thanks again
Original post by Jaanu
I'm not sure how to approach this question. Can anyone please show me how to do both questions? Thank you

1.Dilute 1M stock solution to give 100ml of 1mM. Calculate: Stock solution and distilled water in ml
2.Dilute 100mM stock solution to give 10ml of 10µM. Calculate :stock solution and distilled water in ml

Thanks again

100 ml / 1M (stock solution) = Required Stock Solution (ml).
Remember 100 ml = 0.1L
Original post by Jaanu

Thanks again

I'm a newbie here and I can see this post is old, but I was intrigued by the question and have drafted an answer. I don't know how examiners mark these, but here's what I did to come up with an answer. I'd welcome any comments.

1M of stock solution means presumably 1 mole of molecules to a unit of volume. Doesn't matter what unit for our purposes.The rate of dilution is a ratio: the ratio of total solution to stock.We want a solution of 1mM so we want to dilute the original solution to one part in one thousand. We want 100ml total. So into our 100ml measuring-jug we pour 0.1ml of our stock solution. Then we top it up to 100ml with distilled water. Unless it's something that reacts violently with water. In that case, wefill the 100ml jug half-ful first, then add the stock, then top up to 100ml. that means we'll need 99.9ml of water.

The way not to do it is to first measure 100ml and then add the 0.1ml