The Student Room Group

Experiences of Leeds/Durham/Manchester/Exeter/SOAS/Edinburgh for Arabic

I'm going to apply for Arabic during my gap year, but my only definite choice so far is Cambridge.

I'm more interested in history and linguistics than in literature, and would like to have the opportunity to study other languages (particularly Turkish/Mandarin), so I'd like to do joint honours with linguistics/another language where possible.

Could people who've studied Arabic at one of the universities in the title tell me how they found the course? I haven't seen much about Arabic at universities other than Oxbridge and Manchester here. I'd like to find out about the level of Arabic reached at the end of the course, flexibility in choosing modules and the year abroad.

Thanks.
Reply 1
Hello there!

I'm an Arabic and Persian student studying at the University of Edinburgh. I'm currently in my 2nd year and so far it has been fantastic. At a Scottish university, whatever your degree, you have to take three subjects. As a joint honours student, I took the Arabic language, Persian language and Islamic History last year as compulsory courses. This year I took Modern Middle Eastern History. Even though they were compulsory, I would've chosen to do them anyway, so it worked out for the best. The level of language is very high, especially in 2nd year. In first year you build up the roots of the language, and then second year is when you have to properly knuckle down. You are able to take Turkish as an outside if you do a single honours degree, and also probably Mandarin. It's pretty flexible. Unfortunately, since Arabic and Linguistics is not very popular (Which to me seems strange), it is currently not offered as a course, however you would be able to take linguistics courses in 1st and 2nd year as 'outside courses'. You are definitely able to take Arabic with other languages as a joint honours. A lot of students in my class are taking either French or Spanish as well. Our y