The Student Room Group

Chossing the right university!

Hello, I am currently a grade 12 student in the International Baccalaureate program. I want to go study aeronautical/aerospace engineering in higher education in the future and have been considering not only Imperial College London, but also University of Michigan and even TU Delft. But, Imperial College London would be my first choice if I get in.
My first question is: TU Delft is largely unknown in the place I live in but upon some research, it looks like a good university. Does it actually have a similar level of reputation as Imperial College London? Do you think it will be worth going? Second, my current grades so far are...
Higher Levels : Economics 6 Physics 6 Chemistry 7 Math 7 Standard Levels: English 7 Chinese 6 I think my English grade will probably fall to 6, but I think I may be able to bring Physics or Economics up to 7 by September or October.
If so, do you think I'll have a good chance of getting accepted at Imperial? I don't have that much extracurricular activities that I did that are much related to aeronautical engineering, which worries me lots, because so far all the personal statements I have read have included relevant work experiences.
Thanks for your help!
Reply 1
Hi there 😃

It's great to see you're already planning your future in higher education, and on such an exciting career path. Aerospace and Aeronautical Engineering are fantastic courses to enrol on, with some brilliant opportunities for progression!

If you're already considering studying in the UK, although Imperial College London is a great university, it shouldn't be your only choice. At Coventry University we offer a comprehensive Aerospace Systems Engineering degree with fantastic career opportunities and accreditation from the Royal Aeronautical Society.