The Student Room Group

Applying to uni but worried about being restricted socially?

I'm thinking of applying to uni for next year but have some major concerns about my course. I am currently studying early years education and throughly enjoy the subject. However my course is all girls, which can be great but more often difficult. I am worried that studying a female orientated course, I won't meet others or mix with any guys. I tend to get along better with guys. No drama or what not! 😂 I love studying early years but it would be very difficult to change course.

Will halls be with just my course or will it be mixed gender? Will I just be stuck will girls from my course?

Thanks ☺️
Original post by AJMistry
I'm thinking of applying to uni for next year but have some major concerns about my course. I am currently studying early years education and throughly enjoy the subject. However my course is all girls, which can be great but more often difficult. I am worried that studying a female orientated course, I won't meet others or mix with any guys. I tend to get along better with guys. No drama or what not! 😂 I love studying early years but it would be very difficult to change course.

Will halls be with just my course or will it be mixed gender? Will I just be stuck will girls from my course?

Thanks ☺️

Most universities have halls with mixes of course and sometime will let you request mixed gender flats if you want so its likely you'll be with people on other courses and not just women unless you asked for that.
Reply 2
Just move into a mixed halls, simple as that.

Thanks ☺️

some people end up closer to the people they live with than their coursemates. at most unis most halls are mixed sex, and even where they are single sex the girls tend to want to go and meet the guys and of course societies are mixed sex, so you'll never just be around girls mostly.

Thanks ☺️