The Student Room Group

My flatmate's abusive boyfriend

I'm in my second year of university and i'm living with one other girl from my course, who's a close friend.

Since we moved in together, I've noticed how abusive and controlling her boyfriend is. Some of the stuff he's done includes: hitting her, deleting all data from her laptop, blackmailing her and threatening to harm himself.
I don't feel safe being in this flat when I know that he could come round at any time, and i honestly feel that he's capable of trashing the flat and burning it down.

I've tried talking sense into her along with our other close friends to try get her to break up with him since she's unhappy, but she won't listen and insists that it's fine and that he can change. I've signed a contract to live with her for two years, but i honestly feel safe living here if she's going to stay with him.

What are my options?
Reply 1
Hi,

I think that you need to be aware you might struggle to get her to break up with him. I was in your friends position and I couldn't see what was going on in front of me. All you can do is keep being there for her and telling her why his behaviour is wrong and that she deserves more. You could print off some information from women's aid or give her their website to look through in her own time. It might take a while but eventually it could click. If you try and force things it could make it worse for her.