The Student Room Group

Opinions on MsC/MA in Marketing/Advertising

Hi everyone,
I'm an Italian student finishing my BA in Cultural Heritage...and I am evaluating the possibility to change drastically my academic career with a Msc/MA in advertising/Marketing/Marketing communications... I'm still a bit confused, so I'd like to have your opinion on which universities offer the best Postgrads in these fields. I know it would be a total change from my BA, but I also know that in the UK it's easier to take a master's degree in sth unrelated to your BA.
I'm planning on starting it next year, as I know that some universities offer a Jan/feb intake.
Any advice is welcome :smile:
Original post by Mirii
Hi everyone,
I'm an Italian student finishing my BA in Cultural Heritage...and I am evaluating the possibility to change drastically my academic career with a Msc/MA in advertising/Marketing/Marketing communications... I'm still a bit confused, so I'd like to have your opinion on which universities offer the best Postgrads in these fields. I know it would be a total change from my BA, but I also know that in the UK it's easier to take a master's degree in sth unrelated to your BA.
I'm planning on starting it next year, as I know that some universities offer a Jan/feb intake.
Any advice is welcome :smile:

Hi Mirii,

I currently work in Marketing (digital marketing for a large brand) so I'll try and give you anecdotal advice.

An MA in Marketing or Communications although good is not hugely important to 'break' into the field, per se. The industry has undergone a significant shift recently, with more technically able people taking on roles that were traditionally held by marketers. Digital marketing especially is data-driven, with analyses of competitors and lots of data being a large part of the job. In-house marketers tend to focus more on strategy and analysis, with the bulk of the 'grunt' work, e.g. banners, ads and creative being outsourced to agencies.