The Student Room Group

Good Grades And Experience Are Worthless (Nature Jobs, Science, Humanities)

At the age of 21, I started studying for a two-year Level 3 Extended Diploma in Countryside Management, for which I achieved the highest grade. After, I completed a BSc (Hons) in Wildlife Ecology and Conservation with a first. I then struggled to get work in ecological consultancy during the pandemic. I've held only two jobs in ecology, both of which were short and not ideal, not least because they were low pay and zero hour. I didn't want to go for ranger work because, although I have a lot of practical experience, it just wasn't for me, and I wanted to put my more scientific and technical skills to use. For a while I tried to continue with ecological consultancy, but I was discontented with the field for many reasons, even at the start of my career. After a long period of job searching, I managed to land a short editing job for MDPI science journals in an effort to move further into writing since I've always been a writer. I then made the decision to write a long thesis for an MA Res English Literature, which received a Distinction and an award. In all, I have experience that ranges from practical countryside management to scientific report writing and data analysis to extensive humanities research undertaken independently. My reward for all of my effort is that I'm now on benefits at thirty years old. I'm desperately applying for jobs related to editing and communication in the environmental sector and being rejected by every one of them.

---

Ecological consultancy: I don't wish to work in this field anymore and I no longer have the technical skills and knowledge to perform well as I've moved in a different direction. No one would pick me over someone with an MSc in ecology anyway.