The Student Room Group

Theoretical physics at Birmingham vs Mathematical physics at Edinburgh

Hey there! I am a student from Greece! I have unconditional offers from both the University of Birmingham and the University of Edinbirgh to study theoretical and mathematical physics respectively, but I cannot make up my mind.
I have been to their applicant days and both unis are excellent as I found out, having of course some differences. First it's the fact that Mathematical physics at Edi has of course more pure maths modules which I would be interested in attending, whereas Birmingham offers some courses, especially on the 3rd and 4th year that are a bit different from what I would like eg medical imaging and so on (much more interested in core subjects of physics and maths)... The thing is, in Birmingham I would also have a music scholarship which includes 10 piano lessons per year as well as access to pianos in order to study. Edi can't help me as they've said with my musical interests and can't provide me with any piano to perform...
Apart from those, the city of Edinburgh is amazing but I didn't have the chance to visit the city of Birmingham...
Another thing which is not as big a problem is the fact that a Bachelor in England is 3 years whereas in Scotland it's 4 years... Edi is also higher on the tables for physics and it also has a theoretical/mathematical physics group...
Last but not least, I don't know what the situation is as far as the lgbt community is concerned in both unis.
Could somebody please help me make the choice between those two unis?
Thank you in advance!
Reply 1