The Student Room Group

I don't know the first thing about universities, and I'm going there next year

Hi.
So I'm currently experiencing a problem, I'll be studying (hoping for Manchester) next year, and I'm not really close with anyone who went to university. Basically, I don't know anything, not even the very basics. So I've a couple of questions:
1) Is your knowledge tested only via tests or are there also other methods?
2) Where/when must you wear your uniform?
3) How crucial will be the fact that English isn't my first language and I'm not too good at it especially at speaking (I come from Norway)?
4) How much money would a single en-suite luxurious place cost in the campus of a good uni? Btw although money isn't an issue at all, I wouldn't want to miss the social part of going to uni...
5) I've heard that some courses like philosophy for instance have less than 7 classes per week. Is this true, it seems very stupid, why should people pay hundreds of pounds monthly for a few classes? Also, do you have to go to jobs to practice your course?
6) I am interested in law and medicine. How long do these two courses last and how difficult are they? Also how are they in Manchester?
7) How many people are usually in one "building" in the campus?
Original post by Anonymous
1) Is your knowledge tested only via tests or are there also other methods?

Depends entirely on the specific course.

You can be assessed solely by one method or a combination of items, such as presentation, group project, forum posting, attendance, open-book assignment, essay, dissertation, research proposal, report, practical performance etc.

2) Where/when must you wear your uniform?

Depends on the university.

At the University of Manchester, as far as I know only at your graduation must you wear the academic dress.