The Student Room Group

How do I get into Level 3 Veterinary Nursing at 21?

I’m currently a 2nd year Zoology student in the middle of a career crisis. I really love my course but I think I want to divert into a more hands on animal care role, specifically Veterinary nursing. I do know I want to finish my degree first but should I try and get work experience in a veterinary clinic while I’m still studying? I already volunteer at a Hedgehog rescue and rehabilitation centre, which probably won’t be enough.

I’d really prefer hands on training like an apprenticeship but I’m not to sure how to go about it. Do veterinary clinics offer training/apprenticeships?

Thanks
Original post by Kimidee
I’m currently a 2nd year Zoology student in the middle of a career crisis. I really love my course but I think I want to divert into a more hands on animal care role, specifically Veterinary nursing. I do know I want to finish my degree first but should I try and get work experience in a veterinary clinic while I’m still studying? I already volunteer at a Hedgehog rescue and rehabilitation centre, which probably won’t be enough.

I’d really prefer hands on training like an apprenticeship but I’m not to sure how to go about it. Do veterinary clinics offer training/apprenticeships?

Thanks