The Student Room Group

I'm a Phlebotomist, AMA!

I've been working as a phlebotomist for almost two months.

Ask me anything about the job role and anything you've always wondered about phlebotomy. :smile:
I will not answer questions specific to where I work or anything that could infringe on confidentiality.

@shadowdweller
(edited 3 years ago)

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
For anyone unaware... What even is a phlebotomist? :holmes:
How did you get training for this position?
What band are you?
What are the most challenging aspects of the role?
Original post by 8472
For anyone unaware... What even is a phlebotomist? :holmes:

A phlebotomist is someone who takes blood samples from patients. They are part of the clinical diagnostics team. :smile:
You're trained on the job over 2-3 months and it's band 2. The most challenging aspect of the role is taking bloods from people with small and difficult veins. People on wards are often very sick and dehydrated so their veins almost disappear. It's easy to get stressed and frustrated with yourself when you repeatedly struggle to get bloods, but you get good and bad days. Even someone with great, thick, healthy veins can be difficult, whilst someone with seemingly difficult ones can be an easy bleed.

I'm based in wards, outpatient departments and GP surgeries.
What happened? :lol:
Original post by -Eirlys-
You're trained on the job over 2-3 months and it's band 2. The most challenging aspect of the role is taking bloods from people with small and difficult veins. People on wards are often very sick and dehydrated so their veins almost disappear. It's easy to get stressed and frustrated with yourself when you repeatedly struggle to get bloods, but you get good and bad days. Even someone with great, thick, healthy veins can be difficult, whilst someone with seemingly difficult ones can be an easy bleed.

I'm based in wards, outpatient departments and GP surgeries.
What happened? :lol: