The Student Room Group

Funding for DClinPsy?

I'm an international student and I will be completing my MSci in Neuroscience and Psychology from the University of Bristol. Since I will have done 4 years of study in the UK already, will I be eligible for NHS funding for a DClinPsy or will I still be an international student and have to pay the full fees myself?
I'm pretty sure that if you get a place on the DClinPsy (which you'd need to gain some clinical experience before applying to anyway) then you'd receive funding as anyone enrolled on the programme is employed by the NHS as a Trainee Clinical Psychologist.

Maybe where you're an international student there might be some clause in place that stipulates you would need to then practice in the UK upon completion of the Doctorate for a certain amount of years. That's the case with some routes of funding for the DEdPsy programme (3 years study then 2 years in full-time employment in the UK or you have to pay everything back - puts a lot of pressure on if you were to fail though!)
You should talk to the courses that you intend to apply to but generally it depends on whethere or not you have the right to work in the UK without restriction? You can't do a DClinpsy on a student visa, it's a job (if it is an NHS funded place) and you need to be able to have the right to fully work.
Hey!!

I am also planning to do MSc. Psych Conversion and eventually a DClinPsy in the UK itself. I have been reading about the funding aspect of the doctorate programme for international students. In general, they are ineligible to even apply for the positions which are funded by the NHS. So only the self-funded options are available for international students which are very expensive.