The Student Room Group

Medical Student Electives 2023

Hi everyone, I'm currently a 4th year medical student trying to plan my elective abroad for this summer along with a group of friends. I haven't seen anyone post about electives this summer so I'm wondering if anyone could help inspire me. Does anyone have any plans/experience with particular companies (which to avoid/go for)? What country is a good, safe place to go for a great trip & opportunity to meet nice people? Thanks :smile:
Hi, not really related to the original Q but I'm curious does every uni do an elective? I personally think it's ridiculous they think we have the money laying round for their pointless extra-curricular placement
Reply 2
can I come?
(edited 1 year ago)
Hi, I'm in the same process trying to plan an elective - I recommend 'The Electives Network' (https://app.electives.net/access-info#hospitals) which you can access via 'medical protection' (I created a free account). It gives you a list of every possible hospital you can do an elective in within every country - just to get you inspired!

As a side note, just wondering whether anyone planning an elective in the US has been successful this year as I've had great difficulty finding a good hospital that'll accept UK medical students (and isn't too pricey). Thanks :smile:
(edited 1 year ago)
Hi, would like to ask if anyone knows how to apply for a elective in the Royal Papworth Hospital?
I did an elective in Vietnam (cool to see some of the ways things worked, but not much English so i had no idea what was going on) and Malaysia (got signed off on day 2 and went travelling).

It all depends whether you're going for medical experience or life experience. I was going for the latter, and found the trip to Malaysia much more beneficial, but that's just me.
Reply 6
Hi, I'm planning on going to Cebu in the Philippines for my elective this summer. Was wondering if anyone else was going?
Reply 7
Original post by EMJ95