The Student Room Group
St Salvators Quad, University of St Andrews
University of St Andrews

I've found St Andrews to be a racist university

It's hands down the most racist campus town in the UK!! I'm a mid brown coloured asian.Not only did I get racially abused by students in some of the campus areas but by members of my own class.We even got really bad abuse regularly from the local hick boys in town. One guy a year lower than me got his jaw busted and was days in hospital.I was a medical student there but after years of abuse there I decided to finish ASAP and then went onto to a big metropolitan located university and did a different degree and guess what - no abuse.Now that obviously doesn't mean that racism didn't exist but it was a breath of fresh air to experience such a less toxic atmosphere to put it that way.The racist abuse at St.Andrews ranged from not keeping the (library) door open for the person behind or in front of me and them calling me a "black b**d" to meeting some random student's glance while walking down the street and being called the same nine times out of ten that this happened. Sometimes two of us Asians walked into a coffee shop and there would be a noticeable quietening down in the general dim before rising again once they noticed we were kind of normal human beings.The worst case of racial abuse was from a female student in my own cohort. As lecture class finished I walked out of the building and was met out of the blue with such continuous and zealous racial abuse that I was shocked and that's saying something coming from someone who'd suffered racial abuse all his life growing up in West of Scotland and I was born and raised in the UK.The worst part of the incident was that she got off scot-free as she said to the Dean of faculty that it never happened and her friends who were next to her during her racist tirade who also were in my cohort said they couldn't recall the incident. The instances of racial abuse - excluding from the hic