The Student Room Group

Studying in London or Edinburgh?

Hi, I am an international student planning to study for my master's school in the UK this year. I got offers from KCL and Edinburgh recently. I think the modules of Edinburgh seem more interesting to me but the training at KCL looks solid. Since I couldn’t decide which school to go to, I think maybe learning more about what it feels like living in London and Edinburgh might as well help me make the decision.
I know that living in London is more expensive but has more resources, while Edinburgh has beautiful scenery and a strong cultural presence. I think there are still more aspects I need to consider as a student but I have no clue. Could someone share the experiences of living or studying in these two cities? Thx!!!
Reply 1
Having lived in both, I'd say Edinburgh for sure. London really is a lot to handle, it's insanely expensive and it takes so much time to get from one place to another, which makes you feel more alienated
Reply 2
Original post by kwtkwsk
Having lived in both, I'd say Edinburgh for sure. London really is a lot to handle, it's insanely expensive and it takes so much time to get from one place to another, which makes you feel more alienated

I'm curious about why it spend much time to get from one place to another. I thought that London has reliable public transport (because it is a big city? idk)
Reply 3
Original post by fivecircle
I'm curious about why it spend much time to get from one place to another. I thought that London has reliable public transport (because it is a big city? idk)

Yes, but it's also enormous, with frequent rail strikes and route closures. It's just always a lot of effort to change twice to get somewhere and you end up spending a lot of time commuting. Because of that there is no sense of academic community and it's harder to make friends
Reply 4
Original post by kwtkwsk