The Student Room Group

Scottish Students do you prefer Highers/Nat5 to GCSE/A-Level?

As a Scottish Student I am very glad we have Highers and not A-Levels/GCSE as they seem so much harder than our Highers. Im interested to know what other Scottish students think and if any English students wish they were doing Highers or are glad they are doing GCSE/A-Level?
Reply 1
I really enjoyed my national 5’s since they were just 1 year courses unlike the gsces which are done over 2 years. However with highers I don’t enjoy them, feel like they aren’t great if you wanna go to a uni somewhere other than scotland, you have to take a variety of subjects like 5-6 whereas which A-levels they usually just only have 3 which means you will develop more in-depth knowledge plus 10x the resources haha
Reply 2
Original post by fionaapple
I really enjoyed my national 5’s since they were just 1 year courses unlike the gsces which are done over 2 years. However with highers I don’t enjoy them, feel like they aren’t great if you wanna go to a uni somewhere other than scotland, you have to take a variety of subjects like 5-6 whereas which A-levels they usually just only have 3 which means you will develop more in-depth knowledge plus 10x the resources haha

haha, definately get what you mean about the resources. Personally I preferred Highers as well as Nat 5 while its not as in-depth its a year earlier and allows for a lovely sixth year where we can do first year uni level qualifications with no pressure (or leave for a head start). Never thought about how Highers fared elsewhere in the world, I guess not much emphasis is on that seen as most people go to uni in Scotland
Reply 3
They are not comparable for "difficulty" as they are very different in terms in length, depth and age studied.