The Student Room Group

Uni physics advice

Hey, I'm in year 11 and thinking about physics at uni. I was wondering if any current or past uni physics students could recommend the best things for me to do now/over the summer after I finish gcses to prepare for it or help me get into a good uni.

Any and all advice appreciated, thanks.
Original post by catsforever1154
Hey, I'm in year 11 and thinking about physics at uni. I was wondering if any current or past uni physics students could recommend the best things for me to do now/over the summer after I finish gcses to prepare for it or help me get into a good uni.

Hi there!

I'm not studying physics but I'm studying Mechanical Engineering at Lancaster University so I thought I could help out with this one. First of all I would say definitely don't stress about your uni application at this stage. You have loads of time and most universities look for evidence that you are passionate about your subject, which can be shown in lots of different ways.

If you have some spare time, it's always a good idea to look into a project that you could work on. Learning a coding language or doing one of the many free online MOOCs (Massive Open Online Courses) in your subject area is quite a nice way to get started, the Open University has some great free courses that you could look at.

You could also have a look at university outreach events that you could apply for in advance, I did the Oxford UNIQ summer school in year 12 which was really fun and looked good on my university application - it also helped me to decide what degree I would want to take. I also did a work placement with the MET Office at the end of year 12. Looking around for this type of thing early is always handy as their application portals close in advance of them starting.