The Student Room Group

Senior Maths Challenge

I know its an absolute age away, but I've never worked for it before, and so I'd rather do little increments over a long period of time, than cram anything the night before. I really really really want to qualify for the BMO because I'm almost certain that I'm going into a mathsy degree and so it would look great on my PS. Also it looks fun af lol. I did a paper yesterday evening and attained a high silver, which surprised me as I've only ever gotten bronze before lol. Do you think it would be possible to work to get a BMO-worthy score, and if so, do you guys have any important tips/tricks?

Like, I know it's just a challenge at the end of the day, but I would really like it. I'm going into Year 12 next year, so this is basically my final opportunity as well.
(edited 10 months ago)
Reply 1
Original post by examcrammer156
I know its an absolute age away, but I've never worked for it before, and so I'd rather do little increments over a long period of time, than cram anything the night before. I really really really want to qualify for the BMO because I'm almost certain that I'm going into a mathsy degree and so it would look great on my PS. Also it looks fun af lol. I did a paper yesterday evening and attained a high silver, which surprised me as I've only ever gotten bronze before lol. Do you think it would be possible to work to get a BMO-worthy score, and if so, do you guys have any important tips/tricks?

Like, I know it's just a challenge at the end of the day, but I would really like it. I'm going into Year 12 next year, so this is basically my final opportunity as well.

There is a reasonable jump between silver and bmo, but theres no harm in trying and youll learn some stuff along the way. A few tips
* learn some problem solving methods (so sketch, work backwards, simplify the problem, transform the problem, sub numbers in, ...)