The Student Room Group

interpreting and law work experience

hi forum,
so i'm currently studying french, politics and sociology at A level and is still quite unsure about the route I want to take. I was quite set on taking the interpreting and law route and working as an interpreter in a court. however, I don't know any firms or opportunities that can offer work experience relating to this. does anyone have any connections to this kind of route? thanks
Original post by amel.z0
hi forum,
so i'm currently studying french, politics and sociology at A level and is still quite unsure about the route I want to take. I was quite set on taking the interpreting and law route and working as an interpreter in a court. however, I don't know any firms or opportunities that can offer work experience relating to this. does anyone have any connections to this kind of route? thanks

Hi,

I'm just completing my MA in Interpreting and Translating. Unfortunately, it is unlikely that you would find work experience in interpreting because you need certain qualifications, and especially in a court where there would be restrictions on sensitive information. The best route right now, I think, would be to do any kind of work experience, just so that you have a varied CV. It's good that you're thinking about things this early! I'm not sure about legal work experience. I do know that during our course, where we studied some legal interpreting, some students attended court hearings to get a feel for the environment and the processes. Lots of court hearings are open to the public - but make sure you check first!

Sorry I can't give you any more concrete options! Good luck,

Maya
Reply 2
Original post by University of Bath Postgraduate
Hi,