The Student Room Group

Actual Masters Chances?

Hi! I am studying law in Malta and my degree is shaping up to be a high 2.2 (67% since 70% is a 2.1 here). I would love to move back to the UK, study for an LLM, PGDip (which would eventually lead to masters) or MA, and possibly practice there. I would have a Master provided by my university based on law.

Many universities require a 2.1 but state that students with lower qualifications will be considered on an individual basis. What are the actual chances of being accepted through the non-standard route? Do people actually get accepted?

(I am looking at Uni of Birmingham, Newcastle, York, Southampton, Leeds, KCL, QMUL, Sheffield, Nottingham, Liverpool, Leeds, Exeter, Bristol, Kent, and Reading)

(edited 4 months ago)
Original post by kelagiorgio
Hi! I am studying law in Malta and my degree is shaping up to be a high 2.2 (67% since 70% is a 2.1 here). I would love to move back to the UK, study for an LLM, PGDip (which would eventually lead to masters) or MA, and possibly practice there. I would have a Master provided by my university based on law.

Many universities require a 2.1 but state that students with lower qualifications will be considered on an individual basis. What are the actual chances of being accepted through the non-standard route? Do people actually get accepted?

(I am looking at Uni of Birmingham, Newcastle, York, Southampton, Leeds, KCL, QMUL, Sheffield, Nottingham, Liverpool, Leeds, Exeter, Bristol, Kent, and Reading)

Actual chances of getting an offer from that number and level of universities - very high chance you will get 2-3 at least. However, chances of getting any funding - very low to nil.

Check out the newish routes to practicing law int he UK and be realistic and honest with yourself about the competitiveness of the routes and your likely success, before you invest in expensive courses.

Hi,