The Student Room Group

Advice on applying to medicine

Guys I'm resitting my Gcse this summer (2024) because I was an international student etc... I really want to do medicine at a top uni but because I'm resitting my gcse independently i cant take part in any extracurricular activities which I believe are vital for a med school application
So what can I do?? Can I take part in any essay competitions or anything? Science essays etc..? Also does resitting my gcse affect my UCAS application for medicine what if i do well in my A levels and get A's?
Original post by enthjmk5e664
Guys I'm resitting my Gcse this summer (2024) because I was an international student etc... I really want to do medicine at a top uni but because I'm resitting my gcse independently i cant take part in any extracurricular activities which I believe are vital for a med school application
So what can I do?? Can I take part in any essay competitions or anything? Science essays etc..? Also does resitting my gcse affect my UCAS application for medicine what if i do well in my A levels and get A's?

So I don’t know anything about what it will do to your med school application sorry, but as for extracurriculars if you want to do medince maybe think about doing the crest awards? And if you like drama try the lamda drama exams - they’re pretty easy extra ucas points.
Reply 2
So when do students usually start collecting UCAS points? Like in Year 11 or 12?
What are UCAS points and what's the best way to get them if you want to do medicine?
So when do students usually start collecting UCAS points? Like in Year 11 or 12?
What are UCAS points and what's the best way to get them if you want to do medicine?

UCAS points are based off of your A Level and AS results (or IB, BTEC, Access, etc.) You get them in the summer of Year 12/13, depending on your qualifications.