The Student Room Group

Want to drop out of university

I'm a 1st year cs student but did a foundation year last year (@southampton uni). I enjoyed some maths last year but really hate it now and finding it hard and boring and onlyI like my social and independeant life here. I have no Idea want I want to do. I might do some voluntary work at animal shelters and try vet clinics if I can. My a levels are A*AA in Biology,Chemistry and Physics. and looking back at a-levels, I definitely preferred the bio/chem side of things instead of maths. I don't know if I should drop out, but I just don't have any motivation for this and find it the most boring thing In the world, with the exception of some coding labs being fun.
Any advice will neb much appreciated it.
Original post by BFR25
I'm a 1st year cs student but did a foundation year last year (@southampton uni). I enjoyed some maths last year but really hate it now and finding it hard and boring and onlyI like my social and independeant life here. I have no Idea want I want to do. I might do some voluntary work at animal shelters and try vet clinics if I can. My a levels are A*AA in Biology,Chemistry and Physics. and looking back at a-levels, I definitely preferred the bio/chem side of things instead of maths. I don't know if I should drop out, but I just don't have any motivation for this and find it the most boring thing In the world, with the exception of some coding labs being fun.

With A*AA at A level, presumably you mean the entry requirements of some non-CS courses which might interest you. I'd suggest you look around at what other courses at Southampton might be of interest and the talk to your Personal Academic Tutor about the viability of a transfer to a different course. The process is outlined in the first paragraph of Transfer, Suspension, Withdrawal, and Termination 2023-24. I've highlighted they key step below.