The Student Room Group

Food to eat doing a study all nighter

Hi I'm a stressed uni student trying to cope with deadlines ive left to last minute

What foods are good for staying up studying at night or what is good?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated !! :smile:

Thank youu!!
Original post by Anonymous #1
Hi I'm a stressed uni student trying to cope with deadlines ive left to last minute

Thank youu!!

Hey there!

I personally recommend an energy drink at the start of the session. Don't have it mid-session because it stays in your system and you won't be able to sleep after you've finished. Then I'd recommend something quite sugary like a squares bar to get you through. If it's energy you're looking for then carbohydrates and sugars will be your best bet so go for something along those lines. Whatever you fancy really, don't focus on cramming food in and don't just eat because you're bored as you'll be focussing on that instead of your work.

Hope this helped!
Lucy - Digital Student Ambassador SHU

Thank youu!!

Hey!

Definitely agree with the above about energy drink and sugary snacks! maybe make sure to have one of your favourites as well (whatever you like; pringles, maltesers etc.?) on hand to keep you motivated - that's what normally helps me! :biggrin:

Best of luck with your assignments!!

Natalie
University of Kent Student Rep

Thank youu!!

Hi Anon,

I definitely agree with an energy drink and/or sugary snacks.

I think snacks that are easy to grab, not messy, and are your favorites would be good, such as chocolates, crisps, popcorn, etc.

Personally, I find dried fruits (cranberries, apricots, mango) and nuts to be great!

Hope this helps and best of luck,
Isabella 🙂

Thank youu!!

Hi,

I would recommend long-acting carbs such as cereal bars and popcorn as they will keep your brain fuelled the best for your study needs. Also, make sure it is food that you enjoy as it'll keep you motivated.