The Student Room Group

Is a 2:2 degree (comp sci) even worth it?

I'm in my final year of university, and tbh its been an uphill battle right from the start of second year. I'm on track for a 2:2 at best, I average at like 50-60 marks per assignment, and I'm worried that going to uni at all was worth it with that grade, alot of people in comp sci are self taught or take bootcamps etc. I'm also the first in my immediate family to go to uni at all, the oldest child, in council housing with parent's, there's alot of pressure on me to do well. as I also have no experiance (outside of some WordPress for some local company lol), best I can do after uni is whip up some personal projects and hope for the best. I went because of the potential to earn and because I love to code, but I see my peers, clearly up for a first, and I can't help but think maybe I chose the wrong decision in my position, maybe I aimed to high?
Reply 1
I also want to say that before this I had excelled in BTEC computer science with Ds, but I failed my GCSE maths and English with 3s multiple times (I am a native English speaker), god knows how I managed to get into uni in the first place
Original post by Anonymous #1