The Student Room Group

Should I pursue Law?

HI guys,

I am a third-year English literature undergrad, and I'm currently looking at conventional Ma programmes, as well as the PGDL or a Law Ma conversion to continue my studies at the postgrad level. I'm predicted to gain a first class degree (Durham), and I achieved A* A* A in my A levels, so my academic record is certainly good enough.

The issue is, I have no law experience at all, and while it interests me as a career, the chances of securing a training contract or a vacation scheme seem slim to none from what I've gathered. I'm wondering whether pursuing a career in solicitation would be unattainable. If anyone has any advice/similar experiences they would like to share I am all ears!
Hi Lk225,

Great question and in all honesty, I totally appreciate you doing your research before making a decision since it can be daunting. I am somewhat of a similar position in that I had an undergraduate degree (environmental science) before pursuing law. This is just one option to pursue a law career, but there is honestly many different ways to prusue a law career.

Before I decided to pursue law, I spoke to my lecturers and other mentors for their input to see if it was worthwhile for me. Given my personal goals, I was highlighly encourage. However, I went down a diffeerent route which looked at providing me a foundation in law even though my undergraduate degree is not law related. My law program is a 2-year qualifying law degree.
Additionally, if ou have a non-law degree, you can (not required) to complete a law conversion course, commonly the Postgraduate Diploma in Law (PGDL). This provides you with a foundations of legal knowledge. It will also help you be a competitive applicant since the application process has become incredibly competitive.
once you do this, you will have to qualify SQE (solicitors) or a Bar course (barristers).